Parish Contacts    How to find us    Mass Times    Donate to the Parish    Parking

East Anglia KSC Province 27 and the Diocese of East Anglia

On 13 March 1976, by the decree Quod Ecumenicum, Pope Paul VI formed the Diocese of East Anglia (from the counties of Cambridgeshire, Norfolk and Suffolk) out of the Diocese of Northampton.

On 2 June 1976, the new diocese received its first bishop, Alan Clark. Bishop Clark had previously been auxiliary bishop of Northampton and co-chairman of ARCIC (Anglican/Roman Catholic International Commission), with the cathedral being established at the former parish church of St John the Baptist, Norwich. As the first bishop of the new diocese, Bishop Clark had to set up all the necessary instruments and commissions for the diocese to operate successfully. The establishment of the Diocesan Pastoral Council in 1987 strengthened these.

The diocese continued to grow with the development of the diocesan offices and diocesan tribunal attached to Bishop's House in Poringland near Norwich. Bishop Clark led a number of Lourdes pilgrimages.

When the new diocese developed, so did the Knights of St Columba's Province of East Anglia, retaining the Provincial No 27 from Northampton, as the National Shrine of Walsingham was in the new diocese. (Northampton became Province 38).

Currently, there are seven Knights of St Columba Councils within the Province of East Anglia (which is the same size as the Diocese)

They are :

Ipswich Council 206

Cambridge Council 287

Peterborough Council 313

King's Lynn OL of Walsingham Council 319

Lowestoft Council 518

Gt Yarmouth & Gorleston Council 534

Norwich Council 976